Sixth EU Framework
Programme - Priority 7


The Department of Journalism is located at the Institute of Political Science and Diplomacy at Vytautas Magnus University in Kaunas. Established in 1998, the department is designed as a graduate school of journalism with a special emphasis on international journalism, comparative media studies and new media education. It offers a two-year graduate program in Public Communications, which covers a wide range of topics from media transformation to journalism professionalization.

At present, the department accommodates two full-time lecturers, four part-time professors, and about ten lecturers and journalists from the industry. Scholarly research deals with the role of the media in democratization process, journalism education, the impact of the Internet on mass media, and issues related to democratic and responsible journalism.

International cooperation is established under the Socrates/Erasmus programme through bilateral agreements with journalism and media schools in the United Kingdom, Germany, Denmark, Poland, Estonia and Finland. One third of the Public Communications topics are taught in the English language. Since 2001 the program has hosted international students from Italy, Austria, Denmark, UK, Germany and Poland.