Sixth EU Framework
Programme - Priority 7


Dublin City University [DCU] is Ireland's youngest and second smallest university.  Established in 1980 as the National Institute for Higher Education, it was granted university status in 1989. It has four faculties (Humanities and Social Sciences; Engineering and Computing; Science and Health; Business) and over 7,000 students.

The School of Communications, which is the largest media school in Ireland, is part of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences. It has circa 700 students and offers nine taught programmes of study, three at undergraduate and six at graduate level. The former includes a BA in Journalism, a BA in Communication Studies and a BSc in Multimedia. The latter includes: MA in Journalism; MA in Political Communication; MSc in Science Communication; MSc in Multimedia; MA in Communication and Cultural Studies and MA in Film and Television Studies. The School also offers programmes of research at master and doctoral levels in the areas of journalism, multimedia and communication.