Sixth EU Framework
Programme - Priority 7


The Department of Journalism and Communication at the University of Tartu belongs to the faculty of Social Sciences. At the department undergraduate studies include curricula in journalism and public relations (BA in social sciences), and post-graduate studies on the master (MA in journalism, communication management or media and communication) and doctorate level (PhD in journalism and PhD in media and communication).  In October 2004 the total amount of students was 494 (382 on bachelor level, 87 on master and 25 on doctoral level). There are 18 academic staff members, among them three professors and one associate professor.

The research activities of the Department are carried out in four main areas: media and society in Estonia (usage of the traditional and new media; media in the context of values, identities and lifestyles; media discourses); sociology of social and cultural transformations in the post-Communist society; the role of the media in the restructuring of the social space and public sphere in the process of European integration; Estonian journalism (history and current developments, institutional structures and journalistic culture).